What Are Permission Groups?

 

A permission group is a set of security settings, grouped together and then assigned to either a work group, entity or individual employees, giving them access to various parts of Flare.

The Security setup page allows you to control Permission Groups and make changes to:

 

Note: It is important to take care when working with permission group set up, as this can have a significant impact on the use and access of your system. Please contact Support should you be unsure. 

Follow Me. 

Head over to Settings > Security to view the Permission Groups area.

permission_groups_1.gif

 You can click on 'Add new' to create a new permission group for your requirements, or 'Rename' a permission group to suit your needs.

 Your Flare account will have five default permission groups already set up to get you started:

Everyone

Every employee is always associated with this group, it includes all basic permissions

Manager

 

This group is designed to include managers – users with additional permission for their 'Reports To'.

 

Payroll

 

This group is designed to only include users who have extended payroll permissions

 

System Administrator

 

This group is designed to include users who can administer the system

 

HR Manager

 This group is designed to give access to see and change all details in Flare to the HR Manager - this is the Super User.

 

If you have joined Flare from July 2018 onwards, these Permission groups are extended with the following: 

Social Feed Administrator

Extended permissions to post, change and delete items in the Daily Feed.

Check-In Administrator

Extended permissions to setup and launch Check-Ins as well as viewing results and reports.

Team Leader

This group is designed to include team leaders – users with additional 'View' permission for their team.

Auditor/Exec

This group is designed to include the Executive Team – users with additional permission for their 'Reporting Line'.

FlarePay

This group is designed to give access to see and change payroll related information, as well as running and finalising a pay run in FlarePay. 

HR and Payroll
(same as HR Manager above)

This group is designed to give access to see and change all details in Flare to the HR Manager - this is the Super User.

 

Note: Permissions work in layers. If an employee is listed in two or more permission groups, the employee will always receive the highest level of access/permissions of all the permission groups they belong to.

I.e. if an employee is a member of the 'Manager' permission group and the 'Everyone' permission group, the permission within a group giving them the "higher" permission (Change > View > None) will apply. 

 

Permissions

 Under  you can set specific permissions for each permission group.

More detail for each column and row is explained in this article: Security and Permissions Setting 

 

Menu access

You can give certain permission groups different access to Menu options in Flare by selecting the 'Menu access' tab. 

 permission_groups_2.gif

 

Members

Select the Members tab to add or remove individual employees under 'People', make changes to 'Work groups' or give access based on the 'Legal entity'. 

If your Flare account is set up with multiple entities, you may choose specific entities that this permission group applies to.

To check who is a member of a group, click 'Show members'.

permission_groups_3.gif

 Don't forget to click Save 

 

 

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 2 found this helpful
Have more questions?
Submit a request